BAQIS Successfully Hosted the 4th International Symposium on Quantum Physics and Quantum Information Sciences (QPQIS-2022)


From November 30th to December 1st, the Forth International Symposium on Quantum Physics and Quantum Information Sciences (QPQIS-2022) was successfully held by Beijing Academy of Quantum Information Sciences (BAQIS). 17 internationally renowned scholars from 10 countries, including China, United States of America, United Kingdom, Germany, Australia, Denmark, Italy, Netherlands, Japan and Korea, had in-depth discussions on the theme of this forum "Advances in Fundamental Quantum Information Science Research".  According to statistics, more than 32,000 people from 19 countries attended this forum online.


Prof. Qi-Kun Xue and Prof. Tao Xiang, both BAQIS Presidents and Members of CAS, served as the chairmen of this forum. Prof. Heng Fan (Institute of Physics, CAS / BAQIS), Prof. Gui-Lu Long (Tsinghua Univ. / BAQIS), Prof. Hong-Qi Xu (Peking Univ. / BAQIS), Prof. Li You(Tsinghua Univ. / BAQIS) and Dr. Huai-Bin Zhuang (BAQIS) are members of the organizing committee.


Qi-Kun Xue, President of BAQIS and Member of CAS, delivered a welcome speech at the opening ceremony.


Tao Xiang, President of BAQIS and Member of CAS, delivered a welcome speech at the opening ceremony


QPQIS2022 mainly focused on quantum computation implementations with superconducting circuits, semiconductor-based structures, topologically-encoded qubits, and neutral atoms, and also covered new developments in quantum communication, quantum cryptography, and quantum networking. The organizing committee invited world-leading research scientists with backgrounds ranging from prominent universities, government-funded institutions, to high-tech companies. e. g. Yale University, MIT, Max Plank Institute, University of Southampton, Tokyo University of Science, KAIST, Google etc.



 Screenshot of some participants from Zoom online meeting room


In the field of quantum computing, Prof. Steven Girvin (Yale Univ.), Prof. Seth Lloyd (MIT), Prof. Jason Petta (UCLA), Dr. Yu Chen (Google), Prof. Charles Marcus (UCPH), Prof. Klaus Molmer (UCPH), Prof. Erik Bakkers (TU/e), Prof. Thomas Pohl (Aarhus Univ.), Prof. Andrea Morello (UNSW), Prof. Jaw-Shen Tsai (Tokyo University of Science), Prof. Kenji Ohmori (IMS), Prof. Jaewook Ahn (KAIST), and Prof. Heng Fan (Institute of Physics, CAS / BAQIS) were  invited to give keynote speeches.


In the field of quantum communication and quantum sensing, Prof. Gerd Leuchs (Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light), Prof. Lajos Hanzo (University of Southampton), Prof. Andrea Conti ( University of Ferrara) and Prof. Zhi-Liang Yuan(BAQIS) were invited to give keynote speeches.


Online Talks and Discussions of QPQIS2022

QPQIS2022 also featured poster sessions, including online exhibitions and discussions. The poster panel evaluated more than 50 high-quality submissions in terms of scientific content, design, and clarity of the presentation, and selected three Best Poster Awards.  Poster winners were recognized publicly at the closing ceremony. 

poster winners-s.jpgPosters that won Best Poster Awards

Conference website:

Download the conference handbook: 

QPQIS2022 Handbook.pdf