QPQIS2020 (Online)



Beijing Academy of Quantum Information Sciences (BAQIS) successfully hosted the online International Symposium on Quantum Physics and Quantum Information Sciences 2020 (QPQIS-2020) on 9-Dec-2020 (Beijing time).

Prof. Qi-Kun Xue, Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and President of BAQIS, delivered a welcome speech. 11 invited speakers of the world top scientists from 7 countries including US, UK, and Germany, etc. presented their talks on the "Advances in novel quantum states of matter " in QPQIS-2020.


The distinguished guests of QPQIS-2020 include 5 members of BAQIS International Academic Advisory Board, i.e. Prof. Klaus von Klitzing (Laureate of Nobel Physics Prize), Prof. David Aspnes (Member of US NAS), Prof. Venkatesh Narayanamurti (Member of US NAE), Prof. Hans Hansson (Member of RSAS), and Prof. Stuart Parkin (Member of US NAS, also a speaker).

The remarkable list of QPQIS-2020 speakers is consisted of both theoretical and experimental scientists from various research fields, such as topological quantum materials; low-dimensional quantum materials and devices; spintronics; unconventional and topological superconducting materials; and strongly correlated electron systems, etc. The corresponding speakers in these related fields are: Prof. Liang Fu (MIT), Prof. Claudia Felser (MPI for Chem. Phys. Solids), Prof. Katsumi Tanigaki (BAQIS), Prof. Li Lu (IOPCAS); Prof. Philip Kim (Harvard Univ.), Prof. Klaus Ensslin (ETH), Dr. Mikhail Kiselev (ICTP); Prof. Stuart Parkin (MPI for Microstructure Phys.); Dr. Akira Furusaki (RIKEN), Prof. Donglai Feng (USTC); and Prof. Jiannis Pachos (Univ. Leeds).


All these invited speakers are leading scientists in their relevant fields, and have won many international grand awards. For example, Prof. Stuart Parkin received “2014 Millennium Technology Prize” for his invention of the spin valve that can be used as hard drive reader heads, which led to a 1,000-fold increase in data storage capacity, and hence made it possible for cloud computing and the big data revolution. Prof. Claudia Felser received “2019 James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials” for the theoretical prediction, design and realization of non-magnetic and magnetic topological semi-metals and new types of topological insulators. Prof. Philip Kim received “2014 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize” for his discoveries of unconventional electronic properties of graphene.Prof. Qi-Kun Xue, the President of BAQIS, served as the chairman of QPQIS-2020. Dr. Kai Chang (BAQIS), Dr. Jian-Hao Chen (BAQIS/Peking Univ.), Dr. Hong-Yi Xie (BAQIS), and Dr. Huai-Bin Zhuang (BAQIS) served as members of the organizing committee.

The symposium was broadcasted live globally and received wide attention.  An accumulated number of 12350 participants from 22 countries watched the live talks. Among these, 708 participants are from the overseas countries, including US(230), Singapore(152), Japan(84), Germany(76), UK(42), Switzerland(30), and South Korea(28), etc. The maximum number of concurrent participants reached 1132.


Read more on QPQIS2020 website: http://qpqis2020.baqis.ac.cn/