The 7th International Workshop on Emergent Phenomena in Quantum Hall Systems (June 3-5, 2019, Beijing)


Beijing Academy of Quantum Information Sciences (BAQIS) and the International Center for Quantum Materials (ICQM), Peking University have co-hosted the 7th International Workshop on Emergent Phenomena in Quantum Hall Systems (EPQHS-7) on June 3-5, 2019 in Beijing.
    The series workshop of EPQHS was started by 7 world renowned scientists in the related area, such as Prof. Aron Pinczuk from Columbia University and Prof. James Eisenstein from California Institute of Technology, both are Buckley Prize winners. (“Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize” is the top prize for condensed matter physics, granted by American Physical Society.) The 1st EPQHS workshop was held in 2005 at Taos, New Mexico. Since then, it is held biennially, with speakers nominated and voted by the founding scientists. Apart from invited talks, the workshop also include posters and free discussions, providing a great communication platform for international scholars in the related research.
    Following the tradition of EPQHS, the 7th workshop will present talks of current interest, covering such topics as Quantum Hall effects, topology and physics, nonabelian statistics, excitonic condensations, new Quantum Hall materials, etc. There will be 25 invited speakers from 18 well known universities and institutions of 9 countries across the world, presenting talks of these different topics at this workshop.
    Distinguished guests and speakers include: Nobel Prize Laureate Prof. Klaus von Klitzing from Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Prof. Bertrand Halperin from Harvard University, member of American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Prof. James Eisenstein from California Institute of Technology and Prof. Loren Pfeiffer from Princeton University, both of whom are members of the National Academy of Sciences of U.S.A.